CBS 2 Chicago wbbm7801059 670 The Score
LIVE VIDEO: Watch the Lollapalooza webcast LIVE from the festival, courtesy of 93XRT! WATCH NOW »

stats-recaps1

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#29
Jeff Samardzija
ERA W-L K
2.92 4-8 130
Team: OaklandHt / Wt: 6-5 / 225 NFBC ADP: 170.33
Position: SPBorn: 1/23/1985 Birthplace: Merrillville, Indiana
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 5th Round by Cubs (2006)


Latest News
July 25 1:08 PM PT2:08 PM MT3:08 PM CT4:08 PM ET16:08 ET20:08 GMT4:08 1:08 PM MST3:08 PM EST3:38 PM VEN0:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Samardzija cruised in a 13-1 victory over the Houston Astros on Thursday.
Analysis: Samardzija is 2-1 with a 2.70 ERA for the A's. He faces the Astros again next week.
July 12 12:38 PM PT1:38 PM MT2:38 PM CT3:38 PM ET15:38 ET19:38 GMT3:38 12:38 PM MST2:38 PM EST3:08 PM VEN23:38 UAE2:38 PM CT-Samardzija went the distance in Friday's 3-2 loss at Seattle.
Analysis: Samardzija allowed five hits and struck out five. He'll carry a 2.78 ERA into the second half.
July 7 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)4:33 PM CT-Samardzija won his first start for Oakland on Sunday, giving up one run and four hits over seven innings in a 4-2 victory over Toronto.
Analysis: It was just the third victory for Samardzija despite the fact that his 2.74 ERA ranks 15th in baseball.
July 5 10:20 PM PT11:20 PM MT12:20 AM CT1:20 AM ET1:20 ET5:20 GMT13:20 10:20 PM MST12:20 AM EST12:50 AM VEN9:20 UAE12:20 AM CT-The Oakland Athletics have an agreement in place to acquire Samardzija and Jason Hammel from the Chicago Cubs for three top prospects in a surprising trade for the team with the best record in the majors, two people with knowledge of the deal said Friday night.
Analysis: The hard-throwing Samardzija has just a 2-7 record on a Cubs team in last place in the NL Central. But he has a 2.83 ERA and 103 strikeouts in 108 innings, making him one of the most coveted pitchers on the trade market.
June 2 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)4:15 PM CT-Samardzija had his worst start of the season Sunday, allowing eight runs over three innings in a 9-0 loss at Milwaukee.
Analysis: Samardzija's ERA ballooned from 1.68 to 2.54 with that performance.
May 27 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Samardzija picked up his first win Monday, allowing four runs - three earned - with 10 strikeouts over seven innings in an 8-4 victory at San Francisco.
Analysis: Samardzija had been 0-4 with a 1.46 ERA over his first 10 outings this season.
May 22 3:59 PM PT4:59 PM MT5:59 PM CT6:59 PM ET18:59 ET22:59 GMT6:59 3:59 PM MST5:59 PM EST6:29 PM VEN2:59 UAE (+1)5:59 PM CT-Samardzija remains winless after allowing four hits in seven scoreless innings of Wednesday's loss to the New York Yankees.
Analysis: He's 0-4 with an MLB-best 1.46 ERA in 10 starts. As a fantasy owner, you're likely frustrated with the win column, but that could change in the coming months if he's shipped out of Chicago.
May 12 9:16 PM PT10:16 PM MT11:16 PM CT12:16 AM ET0:16 ET4:16 GMT12:16 9:16 PM MST11:16 PM EST11:46 PM VEN8:16 UAE11:16 PM CT-Samardzija remains perhaps the unluckiest pitcher in baseball, remaining at 0-3 on Saturday despite a stellar outing in Chicago's loss at Atlanta on Saturday.
Analysis: Samardzija yielded only two hits over six scoreless innings while striking out seven. He owns a 1.45 ERA - the second-best in the majors between only Johnny Cueto's 1.43 mark - but is averaging 1.93 runs of support. Every other pitcher with a sub 2.00 ERA entering Sunday's action had at least two wins and three had at least four.
May 6 9:45 AM PT10:45 AM MT11:45 AM CT12:45 PM ET12:45 ET16:45 GMT0:45 9:45 AM MST11:45 AM EST12:15 PM VEN20:45 UAE11:45 AM CT-Samardzija pitched three-hit ball over nine innings Monday.
Analysis: The luckless Samardzija remained winless despite coming up big on the mound and delivering at the plate, coming through with the lone hit off Jose Quintana and scoring the Cubs' lone run. "You couldn't ask for anything more from a starting pitcher than what he gave us," manager Rick Renteria said.
Apr. 30 2:24 PM PT3:24 PM MT4:24 PM CT5:24 PM ET17:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)4:24 PM CT-Samardzija wasn't quite as effective on Tuesday against Cincinnati and suffered his third loss of the season.
Analysis: Samardzija gave up three runs and eight hits over 5 2-3 innings - the first time he failed to throw at least seven this season. He also walked a season-high four while receiving just two runs of support.
Apr. 24 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-Samardzija continued to suffer from perhaps the worst luck of any starting pitcher in baseball with a no-decision Wednesday against Arizona despite a stellar performance.
Analysis: Samardzija gave up two runs and seven hits over 7 1-3 innings, but the Cubs bullpen collapsed and allowed five runs in the ninth to squander what would have been Samardzija's first victory. Samardzija's 1.53 ERA ranked 10th in baseball entering Thursday's action, yet all nine pitchers in front of him boasted at least one win, including five with at least three victories.
Apr. 19 4:02 PM PT5:02 PM MT6:02 PM CT7:02 PM ET19:02 ET23:02 GMT7:02 4:02 PM MST6:02 PM EST6:32 PM VEN3:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-Samardzija suffered another tough-luck loss Friday against Cincinnati, yielding three runs - one earned - and six hits over seven innings.
Analysis: Samardzija (0-2, 1.29 ERA) has been backed with four runs of support in 28 innings over four starts.
Apr. 6 11:17 AM PT12:17 PM MT1:17 PM CT2:17 PM ET14:17 ET18:17 GMT2:17 11:17 AM MST1:17 PM EST1:47 PM VEN22:17 UAE1:17 PM CT-The Cubs wasted another strong start from Samardzija in a 2-0 loss to Philadelphia on Saturday.
Analysis: Samardzija (0-1, 1.29 ERA) allowed two runs on six hits in seven innings. He walked three and struck out eight.
Apr. 1 3:06 PM PT4:06 PM MT5:06 PM CT6:06 PM ET18:06 ET22:06 GMT6:06 3:06 PM MST5:06 PM EST5:36 PM VEN2:06 UAE (+1)5:06 PM CT-Samardzija didn't record a decision in Monday's loss to the Pirates despite yielding only five hits in seven scoreless innings.
Analysis: Samardzija is off to a strong start after he posted a disappointed 4.34 ERA last season.
Mar. 14 11:50 AM PT12:50 PM MT1:50 PM CT2:50 PM ET14:50 ET18:50 GMT2:50 11:50 AM MST1:50 PM EST2:20 PM VEN22:50 UAE12:50 PM CT-Samardzija will start opening day for the Chicago Cubs on March 31 at the Pittsburgh Pirates, the Cubs announced Friday.
Analysis: The right-hander struck out 214 last season in 213 2-3 innings, but had a 4.34 ERA and an 8-13 record last season.
Feb. 14 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET22:13 GMT6:13 3:13 PM MST5:13 PM EST5:43 PM VEN2:13 UAE (+1)4:13 PM CT-Samardzija isn't sure where he'll be by the end of the season.
Analysis: He's a good candidate to be traded by the Chicago Cubs given his one-year contract and he's determined to pitch well whether he stays put or switches teams. Samardzija says he'll increase his value ''as much as possible,'' which will lead to the organization keeping him or getting more in a trade.
Feb. 8 6:18 PM PT7:18 PM MT8:18 PM CT9:18 PM ET21:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)8:18 PM CT-The Chicago Cubs and starting pitcher Jeff Samardzija have agreed to a one-year, $5,345,000 contract, avoiding arbitration. The deal announced Saturday leaves the Cubs with no remaining players in arbitration.
Analysis: Samardzija asked for $6.2 million and was offered $2,765,000 after going 8-13 with a 4.34 ERA last year, when he made $2,765,000. The 29-year-old right-hander could be a candidate to be traded after he and the team were unable to come to terms on a long-term contract.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 ChC 1 0 1 - 4 26 0 0 27.2 24 12 7 0 15 2 25 1.41 2.28
2009 ChC 1 3 0 - 0 20 2 0 34.2 46 29 29 7 15 1 21 1.76 7.53
2010 ChC 2 2 0 - 0 7 3 0 19.1 21 22 18 4 20 1 9 2.12 8.38
2011 ChC 8 4 0 - 2 75 0 0 88.0 64 35 29 5 50 3 87 1.30 2.97
2012 ChC 9 13 0 - 0 28 28 1 174.2 157 79 74 20 56 2 180 1.22 3.81
2013 ChC 8 13 0 - 0 33 33 2 213.2 210 109 103 25 78 3 214 1.35 4.34
2014 ChC 2 7 0 - 0 17 17 0 108.0 99 44 34 7 31 3 103 1.20 2.83
2014 Oak 2 1 0 - 0 5 5 1 36.2 26 13 13 5 4 0 27 0.82 3.19
2014 Tot 4 8 0 - 0 22 22 1 144.2 125 57 47 12 35 3 130 1.11 2.92
Career 33 43 1 - 6 211 88 4 702.2 647 343 307 73 269 15 666 1.30 3.93

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 ChC 26 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2009 ChC 20 5 1 1 0 0 1 1 0 1 0 0 .200 .200 .800
2010 ChC 7 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 2 2 0 0 .250 .500 .250
2011 ChC 75 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 ChC 31 50 0 5 0 0 0 3 3 16 0 0 .100 .167 .100
2013 ChC 33 62 4 7 2 0 1 2 1 31 0 0 .113 .127 .194
2014 ChC 17 34 3 6 3 0 0 3 0 10 0 0 .176 .167 .265
2014 Tot 22 34 3 6 3 0 0 3 0 10 0 0 .176 .167 .265
Career 214 160 8 20 5 0 2 10 6 64 0 0 .125 .160 .194

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2008 ChC Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 9.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 9.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 9.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1223 98 90 94.2 55.95
Slider 431 91 79 85.6 19.72
Split-Finger 284 88 82 85.4 12.99
Cut Fastball 248 96 89 92.5 11.34

w3 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.